Research Insight at NEIU: About

This guide to S&P Compustat databases at NEIU is best used as a supplement to a Library instruction session.

What It Isn't

Research Insight, despite some overlap of financial information, is not the same as an investor-oriented website like Yahoo Finance, Microsoft Money Central or Google Finance. Investor-oriented websites assemble and repackage financial information available from public and privates sources for those interested in equity-market investing, whereas Research Insight standardizes financial information from a variety of sources for those interested in equity-market research.

Research Insight is not a freely available online business resource that can be found and accessed using a web-based search engine like Google, Bing or Yahoo. Research Insight is available online only through a paid subscription to Standard and Poor's. NEIU has such a subscription through the Library and has installed Research Insight in selected locations on the main campus.

What It Is

Research Insight, a business electronic resource published by Standard and Poor's, is a rich repository of standardized financial information that is used by academic and business researchers.

Research Insight is available to NEIU students only in the following locations in the CBM building on the main campus:

  • CBM-114 (TEC lab)
  • CBM-119 (public computer lab)
  • CBM-158 (TEC lab)

In addition, Research Insight has been installed on the following four computers in the Library's Multimedia Learning Resource Center (MLRC) on the third floor:

  • PC03
  • PC06
  • PC10
  • PC12

Research Insight builds on the widely used Compustat subscription databases. NEIU subscribes to two of these databases: the North American (NA) and the global (GV). These databases are updated quarterly and made available to NEIU students in the following months:

  • February
  • May
  • August
  • November

The North American database contains more than 1,000 data items, ratios and growth rates gathered from shareholders' reports, SEC filings (like the 10-K and the 10-Q) and other reliable sources that provide up to:

  • 20 years of annual and 12 years of quarterly fundamental financial data
  • 10 years of daily and 20 years of monthly price history

for more than 21,000 U.S., Canadian and ADR (American Depositary Receipt) companies.

These companies may be actively traded now or may be inactive (having been actively traded at one time).

The global database contains financial information for more than 58,000 global securities, representing some 98% of the world's total market capitalization and provides up to:

  • 20 years of annual and 12 years of semiannual fundamental financial data
  • 20 years of monthly price history

These securities may be actively traded now or may be inactive (having been actively traded at one time).

Subject Guide