University Archives: Home

The University Archives preserves the historical records of NEIU and assists the NEIU community with research projects on those records.

Hours of Operation

The University Archives is located on the lower level of the Ronald Williams Library and is open to researchers Monday through Friday, between the hours of 9:00 am and 5:00 pm (excluding holidays and university closures).

Please make an appointment with a University Archives staff member to ensure the best service for your research request. Contact information is listed below.

University Archives Staff

Hanna Ahn
Archives Librarian

Office: Library LL 006W

Phone: 773-442-4416
h-ahn2@neiu.edu

 

Ellen McMinn Larrimore
Senior Library Specialist

Office: Library LL 015

Phone: 773-442-4402
e-larrimore@neiu.edu

 

Archival Holdings

Examples of archived documents are:

  • Historical photographs
  • Presidential papers
  • Records from the various departments, such as Academic Affairs & Student Affairs
  • Memoranda, council minutes, proceedings, Faculty Senate minutes
  • Records of the Board of Trustees, University sponsored programs and activities
  • University budgets
  • Publications of student organizations, yearbooks, and the school newspaper
  • Blueprints of campus buildings and surrounding areas
  • Records of the various unions and events

There is also a small collection of documents pertaining to the Japanese Internment Redress hearings and a related conference. Both events were held at Northeastern Illinois University in 1981.


Note: University Archives does not accept anything of a confidential nature which would be inappropriate to make publicly available or publish on the Internet, such as student and personnel records.

How NEIU Archival Materials Are Organized

ORGANIZATION OF THE NEIU ARCHIVES

University Yearbooks, catalogs and class schedules, the University newspaper, and a small library are located on the back wall of the Archives Office. Documents in their respective record groups are filed on the shelves. Photographs and other non-print materials outside of the Archives in file cabinets against the east wall of the library's lower level.

HOW THE DOCUMENTS ARE ORGANIZED

Libraries classify books with a catalog number and/or letter based either on the Library of Congress or Dewey systems. Archives classify documents based on the provenance (source) of the records, which are then filed into record groups.

The Northeastern Illinois University Archives organizes materials based on the University department of origin. Each University department and office has been assigned its own record group using an alphabet system. For instance, the Office of the President is record group 'D," so all materials received from that office will be filed into the "D" record group. The classification of the document is further broken down into a series, sub-series, and format.

Example: A memo from President Ronald Williams. This would be classified as: Record Group D, Office of the President. Series 2, University President. Memo, 51. The label on the folder containing the memo would read D 2/51.

NOTE

Most of the materials in the University Archives do not circulate. However, photocopying is permitted. An NEIU ID card, driver's license, or some other sort of identification must be left with a member of the Archives staff when materials are taken out for photocopying.

Your Library