University Archives: Guidelines for Sending Materials

The University Archives preserves the historical records of NEIU and assists the NEIU community with research projects on those records.

Hours of Operation

The University Archives is located on the lower level of the Ronald Williams Library and is open to researchers Monday through Friday, between the hours of 9:00 am and 5:00 pm (excluding holidays and university closures).

Please make an appointment with a University Archives staff member to ensure the best service for your research request. Contact information is listed below.

University Archives Staff

Hanna Ahn
Archives Librarian

Office: Library LL 006W

Phone: 773-442-4416
h-ahn2@neiu.edu

 

Ellen McMinn Larrimore
Senior Library Specialist

Office: Library LL 015

Phone: 773-442-4402
e-larrimore@neiu.edu

 

Thomas Mollo
Library Assistant

Office: Library 006W

Phone: 773-442-440
t-mollo@neiu.edu

Guidelines for Sending Materials to the Archives

All departments are welcome to submit materials for the University Archives.

Please retain items for seven (7) years before transferring appropriate documents to the University Archives for evaluation of pertinence and importance, and permanent storage.

Refer to the Collection Policy below for more information.

University Archives Collection Policy

The University Archives’ chief purpose is to acquire, preserve, and make accessible the official historical record of the University. Examples of documents collected and cataloged by the University Archives include: presidential papers, memoranda, council minutes, proceedings, Faculty Senate minutes, records of the Board of Trustees, records of grants and proposals, documents related to University sponsored programs and activities, University budgets, publications of student organizations, and the school newspaper.

Examples of University documents that are not collected or stored by the University Archives include: student records, individual vitae of faculty, records of monetary gifts to the University, University bank statements, purchase orders or receipts, and personnel records. As a public collection open to anyone, confidential documents of any kind cannot be accepted.

The University Archives primarily collects documents in paper format. Other formats may be accepted, but they will be evaluated by the Archives Librarian for their historical and enduring value.

The Archives Librarian, under the direction of the Associate University Librarian for Collections and the Dean of the Library and Learning Resources, retains the responsibility and authority in determining which records will be housed in the Archives. The Archives Librarian establishes and maintains procedures to help ensure that only appropriate documents are transferred to the Archives to be processed and included in the collection. Those records and documents sent to the Archives which lack relevance to the main function of the Archives will be returned or discarded.

The Library encourages the support of all University departments in developing this valuable collection to document our University’s history.

Your Library

Hanna Ahn