a) General Statistical Resourcesb) International Statisticsc) United States Statisticsd) Chicago & Illinois Statistics
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Quick Facts, Statistics, & More (Reference Tools)  Tags: reference dictionaries encyclopedias statistics  

Use this guide to search online encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and selected web sites for reference information
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.neiu.edu/quickfacts  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Law & Government             Print Page
  
 

Law & Government

NEIU users only = NEIU users only

Top Sites

Congress.Org
Find your federal, state, and local elected officials by zip code; search congressional directories; track the status of key bills; and more. Alternately, search for your elected officials at the Illinois State Board of Elections.


Legal Information Institute
Includes opinions of the U.S. Supreme Court since 1992, together with over 600 earlier decisions selected for their historic importance; the United States Code; and a series of “topical” pages that serve as concise explanatory guides and Internet resource listings for roughly 100 areas of law (Cornell University Law School).

GPO Access
Search or browse official, full-text information from the three branches of the Federal Government. Databases are updated based on their print equivalent and generally date back to 1994 (U.S. Government Printing Office).

Illinois.gov
Official site for the State of Illinois, with extensive Illinois government information.


LexisNexis Academic NEIU users only
Click on "Legal" for comprehensive access to federal and state statutory and case law, tax law, international law, and more.

LexisNexis Congressional NEIU users only
U.S. statutary law and related information including: indexing of Congressional hearings from 1789 forward; full text of bills from 1989 forward, laws and legislative tracking, and more.



 

More Law & Government Sites

ABA LawInfo.org
Information on legal topics designed for consumers (American Bar Association).

Federal Agencies Directory
A comprehensive list of all U. S. Federal Government agencies, searchable by agency keyword, as represented in the United States Government Manual, the official handbook of the Federal Government (Louisiana State University).

The Oxford Guide to the United States Government NEIU users only
Authoritative information on the American Presidency, Congress, and Supreme Court (Oxford Reference Online).

Oxford Reference Online -- Law
NEIU users only
Search several standard law reference books including The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions and the Oxford Dictionary of Law.

Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Case Summaries, Oral Arguments, & Multimedia
Abstracts, audio and other materials for selected Supreme Court cases, and links to opinions (browsable by subject) in every case decided by the Court back to 1793.

State and Local Government on the Net
Directory of official state, county, and city government websites.

Thomas
Search Congressional bills and resolutions from the 101st Congress (1989), the Congressional Record from the 101st Congress (1989), Committee Reports from the 100th Congress (1987), treaties, and much more (Library of Congress).


Uncle Sam - Who's Who in the Federal Government
A directory, including biographical information, of current U.S. government officials (University of Memphis).

USA.gov
User-friendly interface to official U.S. government information and services.

 

Your Library

Profile ImageNEIU Library
Chat requires JavaScript.


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
1st Floor Reference Desk
773-442-4410 or ext. 4410

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait