a) General Statistical Resourcesb) International Statisticsc) United States Statisticsd) Chicago & Illinois Statistics
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Quick Facts, Statistics, & More (Reference Tools)  Tags: reference dictionaries encyclopedias statistics  

Use this guide to search online encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and selected web sites for reference information
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.neiu.edu/quickfacts  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Encyclopedias             Print Page
  
 

legend

NEIU users only = NEIU users only

Top Sites

Oxford Reference Online NEIU users only
Multiple language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.

Credo Reference NEIU users only
Multiple language and subject reference works from a wide variety of reference publishers.

Encyclopædia Britannica Online NEIU users only
Short and book-length articles on nearly every academic subject.


Oxford Art Online
NEIU users only
Single gateway access to Grove Art Online and other important reference titles including The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Oxford Music Online NEIU users only
Single gateway access to Grove Music Online and other important reference titles including The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.




More Encyclopedias

The Age of Fable or Bulfinch's Mythology
The complete text of Bulfinch's Mythology, originally titled The Age of Fable, the standard guide to Western mythology. This site also includes a collection of links to literary and historical source documents on the Web.

Animal Diversity Web
A searchable encyclopedia of the natural history of animals (University of Michigan).

The Canadian Encyclopedia
The most comprehensive source of information on Canada, made available online by the Historica Foundation as a public service.

The Catholic Encyclopedia
Information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine.


Columbia Encyclopedia
The current edition of this standard single-volume encyclopedia.

EH.Net - Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History
Articles are written by experts, screened by a group of authorities, and carefully edited (Wake Forest University, Miami University).

Encyclopedia of Animals (EBSCO Animals) NEIU users only
In-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals.

Encyclopedia of Chicago
Thousands of historical resources-including articles, photos, maps, broadsides and newspapers (Chicago Historical Society).

Encyclopedia of Earth
A free, fully searchable collection of articles--written by scholars and other professionals--on Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.

Encyclopedia of the Atmospheric Environment
Covers a range of atmospheric issues, including air quality, acid rain, global warming and ozone depletion (Atmosphere, Climate & Environment Information Progamme, U.K.).

The Encyclopedia of World History
A comprehensive chronology that spans the millennia from prehistoric times to the year 2000. (6th ed. 2001).

Ethnologue: Languages of the World
An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,912 known living languages.


Holocaust Encyclopedia
(United States Holocaust Memorial Museum)

JewishEncyclopedia.com
The complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Encyclopedia contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations, although it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History given its date of publication.

Medical Encyclopedia
U.S. National Library of Medicine (MEDLINEplus).

North American Mammals
Detailed descriptions, images, and distribution ranges for more than 400 mammals native to the North American continent (Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History).

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
(Stanford University)

SYMBOLS.com
Contains more than 2,500 Western signs, arranged into 54 groups according to their graphic characteristics. In 1,600 articles their histories, uses, and meanings are thoroughly discussed.

TechEncyclopedia
Brief entries for thousands of information technology (IT) terms (TechWeb).

Wex
A
collaboratively-created, public-access law dictionary and encyclopedia (Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School).

 

Your Library

Profile ImageNEIU Library
Chat requires JavaScript.


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
1st Floor Reference Desk
773-442-4410 or ext. 4410

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait