a) General Statistical Resourcesb) International Statisticsc) United States Statisticsd) Chicago & Illinois Statistics
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Quick Facts, Statistics, & More (Reference Tools)  Tags: reference dictionaries encyclopedias statistics  

Use this guide to search online encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and selected web sites for reference information
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.neiu.edu/quickfacts  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Biography             Print Page
  
 

Biography Resources

NEIU users only = NEIU users only

Top Sites

American National Biography NEIU users only
Biographical articles, bibliographies, and Web sites about notable people in American history (only deceased figures are included).

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
NEIU users only
Biographical articles on the professional lives of scientists from classical antiquity to modern times.
 
Oxford Reference Online NEIU users only
Search for biographies in the Oxford reference collection.

Credo Reference NEIU users only
Search for biographies in the Credo reference collection.

Contemporary Authors NEIU users only
In-depth biographical information on over 120,000 U.S. and international authors.





More Biographies

American President
Covers the history of the presidency and the nature of contemporary policymaking, including biographies (the president, cabinet members, first ladies) and timelines detailing significant events in the lives of each administration (University of Virginia).

Biographical Directory of Federal Judges
Information about all judges who have served on the U.S. District Courts, the U.S. Courts of Appeals, the Supreme Court and other life-tenured courts since 1789 (Federal Judicial Center).

Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress
Archival, biographical, and bibliographical information for senators, representatives, vice presidents, and members of the Continental Congress.

Biography & Geneology Master Index
NEIU users only
Index (no full text) to biographical sketches found in print biographical dictionaries covering both contemporary and historical figures worldwide.

Biography.com
This site is useful for biographies of celebrities (A&E Television Networks).

Black History - Biographies
Brief biographical sketches of a selected number of prominent contemporary and historical African-Americans.

Encyclopædia Britannica Online NEIU users only
Biographical articles for prominent figures.

Hispanic Heritage - Biographies
Brief biographical sketches of a selected number of prominent contemporary and historical Hispanic individuals.


InfoPlease.com Almanac: Biography
Search 30,000+ biographies, or browse by category.

Literary Criticism

Provides links to critical and biographical websites about authors and their works (Internet Public Library).
 
Supreme Court Justices - Biographies
Biographies of current and former Supreme Court judges (The Oyez Project).


Uncle Sam - Who's Who in the Federal Government
A directory, including biographical information, of current U.S. government officials.

Women's History - Biographies
Brief biographical sketches of a selected number of prominent contemporary and historical women.

 

Your Library

Profile ImageNEIU Library
Chat requires JavaScript.


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
1st Floor Reference Desk
773-442-4410 or ext. 4410

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait