a) General Statistical Resourcesb) International Statisticsc) United States Statisticsd) Chicago & Illinois Statistics
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Quick Facts, Statistics, & More (Reference Tools)  Tags: reference dictionaries encyclopedias statistics  

Use this guide to search online encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and selected web sites for reference information
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.neiu.edu/quickfacts  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Country Studies             Print Page
  
 

Country & Area Studies

NEIU users only = NEIU users only

Top Sites

Statesman's Yearbook NEIU users only
Published continuously since 1864, the Yearbook provides current information on every country in the world, including expanded coverage of history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure.

Constitution Finder
Constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents. Nations of the world are linked to their constitutional text posted somewhere on the Internet (Univesity of Richmond).

Background Notes
Summary information on countries worldwide. Included are links to sources of information on broader geographical regions (U.S. Department of State).


World Factbook

Summary data (including maps) on foreign countries and governments provided by the CIA; regional maps in PDF format.


Country Studies
Electronic versions of books published by the Library of Congress between 1988 and 1998. Each title in the series, which is not all-inclusive, offers background analysis on a country's history, geography, society, economy, political system, foreign policy, and national security. This web site also contains brief, more up-to-date Country Profiles on select countries. Check the Library Catalog for more recent editions of the full-length Country Studies series in print.

See also International Statistics




More Country & Area Studies

Commonwealth Secretariat
Information on the 54 member countries comprising the United Kingdom and a number of its former dependencies.

Country Briefings

Political and economic data and recent articles on selected countries (Economist.com).

Country Commercial Guides - US&FCS Market Research Reports NEIU users only
Information on the business and economic situation of foreign countries and the political climate as it affects U.S. business (U.S. & Foreign Commercial Service and U.S. Department of State).


Country Profiles
Guides to the history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions (BBC News).

Europa: Gateway to the European Union
Official portal site of the European Union. Provides up-to-date coverage of EU affairs and information on European integration, all legislation currently in force or under discussion, and links to websites of each of the EU institutions.

European Union
Information pertaining to the EU and its member States (Delegation of the European Commission to the United States).

Human Rights Watch
HRW is an independent, nongovernmental organization focusing on human rights abuses and publishes numerous reports on countries and regions worldwide.

International Data Base
A variety of demographic indicators for 226 countries and areas of the world (U.S. Census Bureau).

Index of Economic Freedom

Reference guide to the world's economies including country-by-country analyses and current data available on foreign investment codes, taxes, tariffs, banking regulations, monetary policy, black markets, and more (The Heritage Foundation).

MEMRI: Middle East Media Research Institute
A nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that provides analysis of developments in the Middle East and translations of primary source material from the original Arabic and Hebrew.

Political Database of the Americas
Reference materials, primary documents, comparative studies, and statistical data for countries in the Western Hemisphere.


World Data Analyst NEIU users only
Summary statistics on every nation of the world (
Encyclopædia Britannica).

World Law (JURIST: The Legal Education Network)
Details on foreign governments, legal systems, and human rights (University of Pittsburgh Law School).

World Leaders
This CIA-published directory,
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments, includes as many governments of the world as is considered practical, some of them not officially recognized by the United States.

 

Your Library

Profile ImageNEIU Library
Chat requires JavaScript.


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
1st Floor Reference Desk
773-442-4410 or ext. 4410

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait