a) General Statistical Resourcesb) International Statisticsc) United States Statisticsd) Chicago & Illinois Statistics
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Quick Facts, Statistics, & More (Reference Tools)  Tags: reference dictionaries encyclopedias statistics  

Use this guide to search online encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and selected web sites for reference information
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.neiu.edu/quickfacts  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Maps & Place Names             Print Page
  
 

Maps and Place Names

NEIU users only = NEIU users only

Top Sites

World Maps NEIU users only
Includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps (Oxford Reference Online).

Xpeditions Atlas
World atlas with printable maps (regions and countries) from National Geographic Society.

United Nations Cartographic Section
Maps (PDF format for quality printing) and geographic information resources.

Legislative District Maps



 

More Maps & Place Names

Canadian Geograpic Names
Names of places and geographical features in Canada.

The Columbia Gazetteer of North America
Comprehensive encyclopedia of geographical places and features (Columbia University Press, 2000).

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (for Illinois) NEIU users only
Large-scale plans of a city or town created to assist fire insurance companies in risk assessment; the maps list street blocks and building numbers in use at the time the maps were made.

Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names
Names and other information about places on all continents and nations of the modern political world, as well as historical places. The emphasis is on places important for art and architecture.

Historic Cities
The site is intended to contain maps, literature, documents, books and other relevant material concerning the past, present and future of historic cities and to facilitate the location of similar content on the web (Hebrew University of Jerusalem).

Historical Maps Online
Iimages of maps charting the last 400 years of historical development in Illinois and the Northwest Territory (University of Illinois).

How Far is It
This service uses data from the US Census and a supplementary list of cities around the world to find the latitude and longitude of two places, and then calculates the distance between them (as the crow flies). It also provides a map showing the two places.


IllinoisAtlas.com
Illinois (and U.S.) maps based on a wide variety of characteristics, including data from the U.S. Census Bureau and other government sources.

MapMachine
Use a dynamic atlas to locate nearly any place on Earth, then search for and print historical, weather, population, and other maps.

National Atlas of the United States of America
National-scale geographical information of the United States (U.S. Dept. of Interior).

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
An extensive collection of electronic maps (University of Texas at Austin).

 

 

Your Library

Profile ImageNEIU Library
Chat requires JavaScript.


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
1st Floor Reference Desk
773-442-4410 or ext. 4410

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait