A
- Abstracts in Social Gerontology
References to articles on social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, and society and the elderly, 1992 to present. - Academic Search Premier
References to articles (many full text) on a wide range of academic areas, 1975 to present (coverage varies by title). Included is a searchable collection of images. - Access World News Research CollectionThis resource has been canceled as of December 31, 2012. Please visit ProQuest Newsstand instead.
- ACM Digital Library
References to ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) publications. Full text is limited to journals and magazines, 1950s to present (coverage varies by title). - African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. - African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
Online access to more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres. - AgeLine
References to journal articles, books, and more on gerontology and issues related to aging, 1978 to present. - AGRICOLA
References to journals, books, and more on agriculture and related disciplines, including entomology, plant sciences, and forestry. Coverage from 15th century printed works to present. - America: History and Life
References to articles and books on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, indexing 1964 to present. - American National Biography Online
The premier biographical resource for notable people in American history (only deceased figures are included). Limited to 5 simultaneous users. - Annual Reviews
Full-text articles synthesizing the most significant primary research in the biological, medical, and social sciences. Coverage and online access varies by title. - Anthropological Index Online
References to articles covering all branches of anthropology and archaeology, 1950s to present. - Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
References to articles from core journals in the physical sciences covering chemistry, computer science, earth sciences, physics, and mathematics and more, 1983 to present. - Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) References to articles for subjects relating to education, family, gerontology, health services, housing, mental health services, nursing, social work, and substance abuse, 1987 to present.
- Art & Architecture Complete
References to articles (many full text), books, and more on art and architecture (coverage varies by title). - ARTbibliographies Modern
References to articles, books, and more on all forms of modern and contemporary art, 1974 to present. - Arte PĂşblico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1
A digital collection drawn from a national project to locate, preserve, and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1960. Included are 60,000 historical articles, hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides, and the complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary, and culture. - ARTFL Project, The
Full text French language collection with thousands of online texts including classic works of French literature, historical dictionaries, non-fiction prose, and more.
Comments (0)
B
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Comprehensive index to biographical articles on contemporary and historical figures found in specialized dictionaries and other reference sources. - Biological Abstracts
References to articles on all disciplines in the life sciences, 1969 to present. - Black Studies in Video
This collection features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States, many from producers California Newsreel and Filmmakers Library. At present, the collection includes 145 videos, totaling 141 hours, going back to 1969. Many of the videos also have transcriptions. - Book Review DigestThis resource has been canceled as of July 1, 2012.
- Business Source Elite
References to articles in business and economics (many full text) and profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies, 1985 to present (coverage varies by title).
C
- CAA Reviews
Critical reviews of books, exhibitions, and projects in all areas and periods of art history and visual studies published by the College Art Association. - Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
A directory of business and education journals with contact information and publication guidelines helpful to professors, graduate students and researchers seeking to publish their manuscripts. - Chemical Abstracts (through STN Easy)
References to articles and other publications in all areas of chemistry, 1907 to present. A login and password are not required; simply click onStart Your Session.Available from 5 pm to 5 am Monday-Thursday, and from 5 pm Friday to 5 am the following Monday. **On the first Saturday of each month, STN is only available until 4 pm. - Chicago Sun-Times 1986-PresentThis resource has been canceled as of December 31, 2012.
- Chicago Tribune 1985-Present
Full text 1/1/1985-present. - Chicago Tribune Historical 1849-1987
Historical collection offers full page and article images with searchable full text. - Chronicle of Higher Education
News, information, and editorials on all aspects of higher education, including fellowships, grants, and job listings, 1995 to present. - Clase and Periodica
References to articles published in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English from journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, with coverage of the social sciences, humanities, and science and technology. - Classical Music in Video
Comprehensive video collection to support the study of classical music, providing streaming access to more than 400 hours of video including performances of all forms of music, masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world, and documentaries profiling classical artists and their work. - CollegeSource Online
Online college catalogs from 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional, and international schools; includes a profile of every accredited college in the U.S. (PDF). - Communication & Mass Media Complete
References to articles (many full text) on communication, mass media, and related disciplines, 1915 to present (coverage varies by title). Included are biographical profiles of prolific authors in the field. - Consumer Health Complete
Full text articles from consumer health magazines, pamphlets, and health reference books. Also includes physician-generated videos, medical images and diagrams, drug information, and more. - Contemporary AuthorsThis resource has been canceled as of October 31, 2012.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
Online collection of videos on social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. - CQ Researcher
A source of comprehensive reporting and analysis on news and current events, 1923 to present. - CQ Weekly
Provides congressional news with nonpartisan analysis, the status of bills, committee and floor activity, debates, and roll-call votes. Published weekly and archived from 1983. - Credo ReferenceThis resource has been canceled as of July 1, 2012.
D
- Dance in Video
The definitive streaming video collection for the study of 20th Century concert dance, featuring the most influential performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos. Comprised of 500 hours of high-caliber content covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisation. - Dictionary of Literary Biography
Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works and careers of the world?s most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. - Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (for Illinois)
Large-scale plans of a city or town created to assist fire insurance companies in risk assessment; the maps list street blocks and building numbers in use at the time the maps were made.
E
- Education Abstracts
References to articles from core journals on education, 1983 to present. - Education in Video

- Educational Administration Abstracts
References to articles on educational administration, 1966 to present. - Encyclopaedia Britannica OnlineThis resource has been canceled as of July 1, 2012.
- ERIC (through EBSCOhost)
References to articles, ERIC documents, and more on all areas of education, 1966 to present. - ERIC (through FirstSearch)
References to articles, ERIC documents, and more on all areas of education, 1966 to present. - ERIC (through Ovid)
References to articles, ERIC documents, and more on all areas of education, 1966 to present. - ERIC (through ProQuest)
References to articles, ERIC documents, and more on all areas of education, 1966 to present. - Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text newspapers and magazines published by ethnic, minority, and native presses in English and Spanish, 1990 to present (coverage varies by title).
F
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
References to articles and books on film and television. Coverage varies by title. - Film Literature Index
References to articles on film and television, 1976-2001. - Filmakers Library Online

- Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia
Accessible articles on an array of topics.
G
- GenderWatch
A full text database of diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas, 1970 to present (coverage varies by title). - GeoRef
References to articles, books, and more covering the worldwide geoscience literature; 1785 to present for North America, 1933 to present for International. - GeoRef in Process

- GPO Monthly Catalog
Online version of the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, which indexes all types of U.S. government publications, 1976 to present. - GreenFILE
References to articles and government reports on the environment. - Google Scholar
UnderScholar Preferencesset Library Links to "Northeastern Illinois University - Full Text @ NEIU" to link to the Library's collections.
H
- HarpWeek 1857-1912
Detailed indexing with full text and image (illustrations, advertisements, etc.) of Harper's Weekly magazine from 1857-1912. - Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) The HaPI database provides access to information on approximately 15,000 behavioral measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of health and psychosocial sciences.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
References to articles from consumer health magazines (many full text), pamphlets, reference books, and more. - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
References to articles (many full text) from academic journals on health and medicine. - Historical Abstracts
References to articles and books on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), indexing 1955 to present. - HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies
References to journal articles, books, and more on Latin America, 1936 to present. - Humanities Abstracts
References to articles from core journals in the humanities covering literature and language, history, philosophy, classical studies, performing arts, religion and more, 1984 to present.
I
- IntelliConnect
CCH's platform for doing tax and accounting research. IntelliConnect userIDs can only be created using computers on the main campus. - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) References to journal articles, books, reviews, and selected chapters for international material on anthropology, cultural studies, economics, education, ethnology and ethnography, political science, and sociology, 1951 to present.
- IPA Source
Online access to the International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. - Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
References to scholarly journal articles and books pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), coverage varies by title.
J
- JSTOR
An historical, fulltext archive of core journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
K
- Kraus Curriculum Development Library OnlineThis resource has been canceled as of December 31, 2012.
L
- Latin American Newsstand
Full text of over 35 leading newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese (with some additional content in English) from across Latin America, including Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil. - Latin American Women Writers
A searchable full text collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. - Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
A searchable full text collection of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States. - LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. - LexisNexis CongressionalThis resource is now called ProQuest Congressional.
- LGBT Studies in Video

- Library Music Source
Online access to sheet music for nearly all published works of the world's great composers for orchestra, chamber ensemble, piano, organ, voice, chorus, strings, winds, percussion, and guitar. - Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
References to articles, books, and more on all fields of librarianship, mid-1960s to present (coverage varies by title). - Life and Works of Jorge Luis Borges
Based upon the Jorge Luis Borges Collection and Documentation Center of the Fundacin San Telmo (Buenos Aires, Argentina), this database provides bibliographic access to the world's largest and most distinguished collection of materials related to Borges' life and works. - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
References to articles, books, and more on all aspects of the study of language, 1973 to present. - Literary Index
Comprehensive indexing of many standard literary criticism print sources. Most of the referenced sources are available in the Reference Collection, 1st floor. - Literature Criticism Online
Critical commentary on authors and literary works. Included collections: Contemporary, 20th-Century, 19th-Century, Shakespearean, 1400-1800, Classical & Medieval, Poetry, Short Story, Drama and Children's. Also includes Dictionary of Literary Biography & Something About the Author.
M
- MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed for high school libraries, this databases references articles from magazines and current events publications (many full text), 1984 to present (coverage varies by title). - MasterFILE Premier
Designed as a general public library resource, provides references to articles (many full-text) from journals, magazines, and trade publications (coverage varies by title), as well general reference information and images. - MathSciNet
Online version of Mathematical Reviews, 1940 to present, with some retrospective coverage dating back to 1864. - MEDLINE (through FirstSearch)
References to articles on all areas of medicine, 1950 to present. See PubMed for a free, more frequently updated version of the database. - MEDLINE (through Ovid)
References to articles on all areas of medicine, 1946 to present. See PubMed for a free, more frequently updated version of the database. - Mental Measurements Yearbook
Information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, psychology, and more as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks, 1st to 18th Yearbooks (January 2009). - Military & Government Collection
References to articles (many full text) and government-issued pamphlets (full text) pertaining to all branches of the military. Coverage varies. - MLA International Bibliography
References to articles, books, and more on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, 1926 to present. - Music Index
References to articles on every aspect of classical and popular world music, 1979 to present.
N
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Virtual Library
Full-text publications from the NCJRS Web on justice and substance abuse. - Naxos Music Library
The most comprehensive audio file collection of classical music available online, including selected world music, Chinese music, and other genres. Please click Log Out after using this service. - Naxos Music Library Sheet Music
Downloadable sheet music in all classical genres, spanning music from Medieval to the 21st century. - Naxos Musical Library Jazz
One of the most comprehensive audio file collections of jazz music available online. Please clickLog Outafter using this service. - NBER Working Papers An ever-growing collection, aimed at professional economists, of scientific papers that report initial findings and are often published subsequently in scholarly journals.
- NetAdvantage
S&P (Standard and Poor's) business information sources on companies, industries, mutual funds, stocks, bonds, and credit markets. - New Scientist Archive

- New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990?Present

- New York Times 1980-Present
Full text 6/1/1980-present. - New York Times Historical 1851-2007
Historical collection offers full page and article images with searchable full text. - Newspaper Source
Full-text electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers, including small-town newspapers not covered by America's Newspapers or LexisNexis Academic. Coverage varies by title.
O
- Opera in Video
Comprehensive streaming video collection providing coverage in all forms of operatic performance, and is relevant to a broad range of studies, including music history, music appreciation, opera performance, analysis and theory. Contains 500 hours of video comprising 288 operatic works as well as videos of legendary performers, performance classes, and interviews with singers, stage designers, and directors. Multiple productions of the most studied operas allow for comparative analysis. - Oxford Art Online
Access to Grove Art Online and other art reference titles from Oxford University Press. Limited to 5 simultaneous users. - Oxford English Dictionary
The OED is the unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of English-language words, both present and past. - Oxford Music Online
Access to Grove Music Online and other music reference titles from Oxford University Press. Limited to 5 simultaneous users. - Oxford Reference Online
Online dictionaries, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
P
- PAIS International
References to articles, books, and more on national and international political, social, and public policy issues, 1972 to present. - PapersFirst
References to papers presented at conferences worldwide, 1993 to present. - Philosopher's Index
References to articles and books on all fields of philosophy, 1940 to present. - PILOTS
References to publications on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, 1871 to present. - PopLine
References to articles, books, and more on reproductive health, 1970 to present. - Population Index
References to articles, book, and more on population topics, 1986-2000. - Primary Search
Designed for elementary school libraries, this database references articles from popular, elementary school magazines (many full text), 1985 to present. - ProceedingsFirst
References to conference publications, 1993 to present. - Professional Development Collection
References to articles (many full text) from a specialized collection of journals for professional educators, 1965 to present. - Project MUSE
Full text journal collection of current humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers. - ProQuest Congressional
Information by and about Congress including: indexing of hearings from 1789 forward; full text of bills from 1989 forward, laws and legislative tracking, and more. - ProQuest Criminal Justice References to articles on criminology, corrections administration, criminal law, criminal justice, law enforcement, addition, family law, industrial security, and rehabilitation, 1981 to present.
- ProQuest Education Journals References to articles (many full-text) from journals on all areas of education, 1970 to present.
- ProQuest Newsstand
Full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from publishers worldwide, including the Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal. - ProQuest Statistical InsightThis resource has been canceled as of July 1, 2012
- PsycINFO
References to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present. - PubMed
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles, 1950s to present.
R
- Race Relations Abstracts
References to articles on race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration studies, 1975 to present. - Regional Business News
Full text of business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. - RILM (Rpertoire International de Littrature Musicale) Abstracts of Music Literature
References to articles, books, catalogues, criticism, and more on music and musicology, 1967 to present.
S
- Sanborn Maps of Illinois, 1867-1970
Large-scale plans of a city or town created to assist fire insurance companies in risk assessment; the maps list street blocks and building numbers in use at the time the maps were made. - Saskia Art Images Collection (CARLI Digital Collections)
30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, as well as archaeological sites. - Social Science Abstracts
References to articles from core journals in the social sciences covering anthropology, corrections, psychology, sociology, and more, 1983 to present. - Social Services Abstracts
References to articles and other publications on social work, human services, and related areas, 1979 to present. - Sociological Abstracts
References to articles, books, and more on sociology and related disciplines, 1952 to present. - Something About The Author Online
Information and literary criticism concerning the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults - SPORTDiscus
References to articles, books, and more on all areas of sport, exercise science, and physical education, 1800 to present (coverage varies by title). - Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video
This collection features over 250 videos on fitness and health assessment, in partnership with sports medicine video producer Healthy Learning. - Statesman's Yearbook Online
Current information on every country in the world, including coverage of history, politics, economics, trade, and infrastructure.
T
- Teacher Reference Center
References to articles from popular teacher and educational administration journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
U
- UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory
Detailed information on all types of serials published worldwide. - Urban Studies Abstracts
References to articles on urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, 1973 to present. - US Hispanic Newsstand
Full text of more than 50 leading Hispanic newspapers published in the United States--including El Diario/LA PRENSA (New York City), La Opinin (Los Angeles), Conexin (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago)--providing local, regional, national, and international news from the Hispanic perspective.
W
- Wall Street Journal 1984-Present
The financial newspaper of record offering coverage of national and international finance, 1984 to present. - World Almanac
The World Almanac series and the Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia, 1998 to present. - World Shakespeare Bibliography
References to Shakespeare-related scholarship (articles, books, theatrical productions, and more), 1961 to present. - WorldCat
OCLC Online Union Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
References to articles from the international literature of political science and international relations, including international law and public administration/policy.
Your Library |








Loading...
