Health, Physical Education, Recreation & Athletics Research Guide: Articles

Essential library research sources for study in health and wellness, physical education, and exercise science courses. #hpera

Use the Right Tool

will allow you to search for books, ebooks, DVDs, streaming videos, articles, and more in one place

will help you find search tools appropriate for your specific topic, usually to find peer reviewed/scholarly journal articles.

will let you search by title for the Library's online journal, magazine, and newspaper subscriptions

will let you renew materials online or request items via I-Share

Follow the Links



This button provides direct links from the Library's databases to the online full-text articles, when available. If the full text of an article is not available online, search for a print version or request a copy of the article through ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.

Have a Citation?

Do you have some information about a specific article already? Type what you know into our Citation Linker and see if the Library has it.

Searching for Articles...Why?

In this video, you will learn how to evaluate the difference between scholarly journals and other kinds of periodicals, and how to describe the peer-review process.

Length: 1:24

What is a scholarly journal video

Academic Search Complete - A Great Place to Start for Any Topic

Academic Search Complete is the Library's largest source of full text articles online. Need an article quickly? Try this first.

Search Specific Databases

When doing in-depth research, it's usually best to search one database at a time directly and take advantage of advanced search features. Here are some suggestions for health, PE, and exercise science research:

Health Subject Databases

Some databases are limited even to a specific subject within health or medicine. These can be helpful when you need a more comprehensive in-depth search of a topic.

I have the article, now what?

Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles are most often written for professionals in the field. As a student, reading them can sometimes be a bit frustrating. Luckily there are guides that will help you learn how to read them.

Try Critical reading : making sense of research papers in life sciences and medicine

This series of articles from the British Medical Journal walks readers through all the steps and includes examples of specific types of studies you will find in your article searches.

Might I suggest you start with...

Latest Articles from Health Education & Behavior

Browsing the latest issues of the main scholarly journals in the field is an effective way to stay on top of the latest research. Here are some articles from recently published issues.

Loading

Latest Articles from Research Quarterly in Exercise and Sport

Browsing the latest issues of the main scholarly journals in the field is an effective way to stay on top of the latest research. Here are some articles from recently published issues.

Loading